Week 1: I Quit Sugar

Week 1 of the I quit sugar programme.

Before we get started, I have to admit that I may have had a tiny tiny amount of sugar last Thursday. I was cooking a feast for family and as my ‘I QUIT SUGAR’ book hadn’t arrived I opted for a dark chocolate tart and it required 2 table spoons of sugar and a whole load of dark chocolate. It also required testing- it was delicious.

(yes that’s right, I blame Royal Mail and not my will power).

That aside, today I had a revolution, it was 1pm, I had had toast for breakie at 8am, a flat white and two oatcakes. By this time, I am usually crying out for lunch but today I’m wasn’t.

Maybe something was working..

I have also always considered myself a healthy eater, eating lots of fruit and veg and forever conscious of being low fat. But still, I was always ready for my next meal. After reading more, although being healthy, I definitely have/had a high fructose diet.

The idea of getting out of the sugar cycle really appealed to me.

The theory behind giving up fructose in a nutshell

  • It doesn’t enable to ‘stop’ hormone so we’ll (well I do) continue eating it until we’re sick
  • It can’t be processed properly by your body so effectively turns into fat
  • Modern food processes means it basically added to EVERYTHING (as I am quickly finding out)

Not a good combination.

The results so far: I am feeling okay, definitely feeling more satisfied and I basically passed out last night and I was comatosed until 7am.

I’ll feel like I should wait until I have finished the 8 week programme before I review the book but a little taster of one of the recipes- Salted Caramel Haloumi & Apple (basically my favourite words)

photo 1

photo 2

So easy to make & a great evening treat when you have friends over.

All you need is

  • Haloumi
  • Green Apple
  • Cinnamon
  • Sea Salt

Throw it all in a pan and done.

(oh yes, forgot to mention wheat free is out the window although wholegrain and moderation is in)

Leave a Reply

